This time, we see further enhancement to the user experience, with users given the ability to remove a whole site from ever appearing in their search results.
From today, you’ll start seeing a new option to block particular domains from your future search results. Now when you click a result and then return to Google, you’ll find a new link next to “Cached” that reads “Block all example.com results.”
Once you’ve blocked a domain, you won’t see it in your future search results. (Side note: Sometimes you may have to search on a new term, rather than simply refreshing your browser, before you’ll notice the domain has been successfully removed.)
The next time you’re searching and a blocked page would have appeared, you’ll see a message telling you results have been blocked, making it easy to manage your personal list of blocked sites. This message will appear at the top or bottom of the results page depending on the relevance of the blocked pages.
Users will now have a new option in their settings panel to show them sites they have previously blocked while searching. The aim of this innovation according to Google’s own, Matt Cutt’s is to “provide an even more personalized and enjoyable experience on Google.”
So what does this mean from SEO? Well, nothing yet, but stay tuned. Cutts went on to say “we’re not currently using the domains people block as a signal in ranking, we’ll look at the data and see whether it would be useful as we continue to evaluate and improve our search results in the future.”